Preview Hammer Series Limburg


The third edition of the Hammer Series Limburg will take place from Friday 7 June until Sunday 9 June. This three-day event is an atypical race in which not an individual rider, but a team will win. The achieved points in the first two races will be counted and based on that ranking, the team will start in the A-Final or B-Final during the Hammer Chase. The Hammer Series is divided into three different stages: Hammer Climb (Vaals), Hammer Sprint (Sittard) and Hammer Chase (Sittard). Last year, Lotto Soudal finished eighth in Hammer Limburg, a result the team also wants to achieve this year.

Mario Aerts, sports director at Lotto Soudal: “We will have to gather as many points as possible in the first two days. The first stage was a real success for our team last year. Thanks to Tim Wellens and Bjorg Lambrecht, we were able to get a lot of points during the Hammer Climb. This year it will be a lot more difficult because of the absence of Bjorg. We especially hope that Tim can collect as many points as possible on the first day.”

“On the second day, the other Lotto Soudal riders must try to attack from the peloton and try to earn the necessary points during a breakaway. Every year, our main goal is to reach the A-Final of the Hammer Chase, a result that will depend on the first two days. It won’t be easy, that’s for sure!”

Line-up Lotto Soudal:  Adam Blythe, Frederik Frison, Lawrence Naesen, Brent Van Moer, Jelle Wallays, Tim Wellens and Enzo Wouters.

Sports directors: Mario Aerts and Kevin De Weert.

You can follow the Hammer Series Stavanger live on


Hammer Series Limburg

Friday 7 June: Hammer Climb (64 km)
Saturday 8 June: Hammer Sprint (99.2 km)

Sunday 9 June: Hammer Chase (49.6 km)