WorldTeam Lotto Soudal brings strong team at the start of Paris-Nice

The 79th edition of the Race to the Sun kicks off on Sunday 7 March.
Race 05 March 2021

On Sunday 7 March, Lotto Soudal will be at the start of the 79th edition of Paris-Nice. During eight stages, the peloton heads south through the French landscapes to finally reach the Côte d’Azur in Nice. Paris-Nice kicks off with a hilly stage which offers chances for the offensive riders. On Monday, it’s a first opportunity for the fast men, on Tuesday an individual test against the clock awaits. The 7-kilometre long uphill finish in Chiroubles on Wednesday will give the overall a first shape before the sprinters are given a final opportunity on Thursday. The final three stages will be decisive for the general classification.

Lotto Soudal will be at the start of Paris-Nice with a mix of experience and youth. John Degenkolb, Philippe Gilbert and Florian Vermeersch will further sharpen their shape for the upcoming spring Classics. With Thomas De Gendt, Kobe Goossens, Stefano Oldani and Harm Vanhoucke, the team has additional cards to play on the hilly and mountainous terrain.


Stage 1 – Sunday 7 March: Saint-Cyr-l’Ecole – Saint Cyr-l’Ecole (166 km)

Stage 2 – Monday 8 March: Oinville-sur-Montcient - Amilly (188 km)

Stage 3 – Tuesday 9 March: Gien - Gien (Individuele tijdrit – 14,4 km)

Stage 4 – Wednesday 10 March: Chalon-sur-Saône – Chiroubles (187.5 km)

Stage 5 – Thursday 11 March: Vienne – Bollène (200 km)

Stage 6 – Friday 12 March: Brignoles – Biot (202.5 km)

Stage 7 – Saturday 13 March: Nice – Valdeblore La Colmiane (166.5 km)

Stage 8 – Sunday 14 March: Nice – Nice (110.5 km)

Line-up Lotto Soudal: John Degenkolb, Thomas De Gendt, Philippe Gilbert, Kobe Goossens, Stefano Oldani, Harm Vanhoucke and Florian Vermeersch.

In this article

07 Mar 14 Mar


Vlag France France 1170.3 km
  1. Maximilian Schachmann Vlag Germany 28H 49' 51" BORA - hansgrohe
  2. Aleksandr Vlasov Vlag Russia 28H 50' 10" Astana - Premier Tech
  3. Ion Izagirre Vlag Spain 28H 50' 14" Astana - Premier Tech
  4. Harm Vanhoucke Vlag Belgium 28H 51' 32" Lotto Soudal